My Today’s craving: W-H-I-T-E C-H-O-C-O-L-A-T-E

Aiming for a life without refined sugar and more of natural sugar, I always try to find alternatives to things that I use to crave in the past. I used to love white chocolate. Not that I was overindulging on it very often but I used to love the creamy, extremely sweet and soothing texture of it.

Lately, I have been crazy about coconut. Coconut in all forms: flesh / oil / cream… I truly believe in the amazing properties of coconut. Coconut has been too often criticized as provoking heart disease and weight gain due to its high content of saturated fats. I will enclose some interesting information below on its amazing healing properties (bear with me…).

Going back to my search for a more natural substitute of white chocolate, here it is: C-R-E-A-M-E-D  C-O-C-O-N-U-T.

Not a long time ago, I wanted something sweet but couldn’t find anything suitable to my liking.

Suddenly… the idea of trying a little bit of the creamed coconut left in my fridge did occur to me. And oh WELL…I haven’t been disappointed! It was absolutely delicious, filling and so satisfying. Some of you might think that indulging in coconut cream is absolutely insane but it did provide me the sweetness that my body was craving for. Creamed coconut is 100% coconut and nothing else. No refined sugar or any other ingredients added to it. A PURE and NATURAL source of sweetness to nourish my heart and soul.

Knowing this treat being real food, It makes me feel good indulging on it. I am not feeling guilty. I am feeling nourished and my body is thanking me for this action.

The brand that I have been using was: Blue Dragon, available in most supermarkets (oriental, indian and caribbean cooking section).

As promised, a very interesting articles from http://nourishedmagazine.com.au/blog/articles/how-to-restore-digestive-health

Anti-Microbial Saturated Fats:

Certain fats have anti-microbial properties. People with digestive disorders often suffer from candida (yeast), fungi, parasites, viruses and other unfriendly microorganism invasions as a result of damaged digestive terrain. Anti-microbial saturated fats help to combat these; the two best sources are coconut oil and butter from grass-fed dairy cattle. Coconut oil is anti-viral, and contains lauric, capric and caprylic acids–recommended to combat candida. Coconut oil is so beneficial for digestive health that years ago a person suffering from Crohn’s disease wrote to “Dear Abby” insisting that eating macaroons eliminated symptoms of the disease. The macaroons contained sugar, white flour, bad oils and guess what. . . 6 to 8 grams of fats from coconut! Even amidst the bad ingredients, the fatty acids in coconut oil helped this person with Crohn’s!

Grass-fed, organic butter also contains anti-microbial fatty acids including butyric acid, which has strong anti-fungal effects. Coconut oil and butter are not only anti-microbial, but they also help heal the lining of the gut; therefore, they are preferred for cooking, baking or eating right off the spoon.

COCONUT is my today’s sweet H-E-R-O!

With much Love,

Stephanie

This entry was published on October 9, 2012 at 8:00 pm. It’s filed under A BALANCED LIFE FREE FROM SUGAR and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

