Week 1

Today, I felt like constantly eating. I don’t know if I am starting experiencing sugar withdrawal symptoms but my desire for food was pretty strong.

My thoughts of the day:

1) while wanting to eat just a couple of hours after my previous meal, I decided to do a 15 min session on my fitness indoor trampoline just to divert my attention from eating (I bought mine from Argos at £29.00 http://www.argos.co.uk). Reluctance in doing some sort of exercise was pretty high but I do know myself so well: I just needed to push myself a little bit because once on my trampoline, I do love it. It is easy, does not require a lot of effort (especially when I don’t feel like it or going through a sugar free transition when care and gentleness is required!) For any one reading this post and having difficulty to find motivation in exercising, I would definitely recommend you to try one of them. For more information on why I love it so much, have a look on my previous post: How I have been improving my motivation for fitness. The conscious effort of committing myself in doing a bit of exercise greatly helped me to delay my reach for food. I wasn’t even hungry to be honest. While jumping on my beloved trampoline, I surprised myself of the regain of energy that I had. I surprised myself wanting to push the intensity of the workout even more. Putting some uplifting songs was so much fun. Results: cravings delayed, body oxygenated, legs and butt toned up…a happy steph indeed!

2) I didn’t really have anything planned for the day apart writing on my blog. I deeply knew that if I was staying home, I would…one: be too close from the kitchen and therefore my temptation for food and sweet treats would have been higher...two: my whole body would have been tensed just by the fact to sit down all day long on the sofa. I realised that sitting on my sofa for too long is not doing any favour to my back. My twisted position (my favourite one indeed!) is making me a bit out of breath somehow but also generate tensions in my back. I do know that going for a walk is helping me to disconnect with anything. I do love this season. I do love walking, hearing the little birds and smelling the fresh flowers and herbs in my surroundings. It is very soothing and therapeutic for me. I love foraging and it was also the purpose of my walk: finding some free food for my dinner 🙂

3) Planning nutritious food is going to be the key in supporting my body through this transition time. Here is an example of what I had for dinner:

  • Ingredients http://allrecipes.com/recipe/baked-kale-chips/

    • 1 bunch kale
    • 1 tablespoon olive oil
    • 1 teaspoon seasoned salt

    Directions

    1. Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line a non insulated cookie sheet with parchment paper.
    2. With a knife or kitchen shears carefully remove the leaves from the thick stems and tear into bite size pieces. Wash and thoroughly dry kale with a salad spinner. Drizzle kale with olive oil and sprinkle with seasoning salt.
    3. Bake until the edges brown but are not burnt, 10 to 15 minutes.

Have a lovely day,

With much love,

Stephanie xxx

This entry was published on June 19, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under A BALANCED LIFE FREE FROM SUGAR, BALANCED BODY, BALANCED FOOD and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

