WEEK 1

Here we go today on my sugar free journey.

I am expecting sugar cravings, slump of energy, tiredness and moodiness ect…because this is it: not giving my body any sugars will create resistance in the first place. I am totally aware of that.

I have to say, being aware of lows that I might experience  is helping me to be gentle with myself but also is helping me to better plan and support my body while detoxifying from sugar.

I don’t like the word DETOX. I have done some extreme detox in the past, putting my whole body through huge amount of stress by depriving myself from nutritious food.  I didn’t realised that at the time.My malnourished body wasn’t ready to cope with these extreme processes. I do not want to suggest that fasting is bad. I think that giving your body a break from indulgences at Christmas / Easter time… is beneficial. However, at the time my body wasn’t strong enough to deal with lack of regular food supply.

I don’t want to consider being sugar free as a DETOX. I am more seeing my new challenge as a way to experience and return to a more natural way of eating…a way that my body was designed to eat in the first place. 2 months is hopefully going to give me the opportunity to lessen my sweet addiction and give me a whole new way of eating more nutritious food. I am also expecting to lessen my compulsive behaviour of wanting to eat more and more and more piece of cakes when being beautifully displayed in front of me. After 2 months, I wish to have been able to introduce new habits so eating can be a real source of enjoyment and not a source of guilt, self-depreciation and isolation.

It is not that I am an unhealthy person in the first place. I have always be sensible with what I eat. But occasions such as baking a treat, I was just ending up eating the whole thing instead of being balanced, indulging in one small slice and being satisfied with it. Instead, it was more likely that I was anticipating the pleasure of having my next slice while chewing the one in my mouth.

As Sarah Wilson says: It is uncool and undignified. By the way, Sarah Wilson is MY source of inspiration. I came across her blog and has been hooked on it. I have been purchasing her:  I quit sugar e book. She is so honest and genuine. That is why I am trusting her and want to go ahead with the process of being sugar free for the next 8 weeks.  Check her out on http://www.sarahwilson.com.au/ She is a truly beautiful and very inspirational woman.

So today, I want to eat and eat and eat. It feels like I have got a hole in my stomach. It feels like whatever I am putting in my body, I want some more. I am also experiencing slump of energy.

To cope with those feelings, I am applauding me of having made some sugar free treats to satisfy my expected urge for sweetness. In my freezer, I could therefore find:

and here is the recipe for those who are interested:

sugar-free raspberry ripple

 * 1/3- 1/2 cup coconut oil

* 1/3 cup organic salted butter (be sure to use salted…the saltiness gives it a lovely kick)

* 2 tbls raw cacao, or cocoa

* 1 tbls rice malt syrup

* 1/3 cup coconut, shredded or flakes (for a chunkier version)

* 1/3 cup of frozen raspberries

But also…

First make the base (meals and nuts can be substituted for any others you have lurking in the cupboard):

  • 100g of dessicated coconut
  • 110g of shelled pistachios
  • 150g of almond meal
  • 4 “generous” tbls of butter…which is to say, keep adding more butter till you get a nice gooby consistency

Preheat the oven to about 160 C. Stab-mix or blend pistachios until they are semi-fine chunks, add to a mixing bowl with the coconut, almond meal, and room temperature butter and rub until the mixture is an even, thick consistency. Then press into a baking paper lined spring form pan. cover the base and sides with your mixture to an even thickness  – you may need more or less of the mixture depending on the size of your pan. Try to keep it an even thickness – about 1/2-1cm.

Place in oven for 8 minutes or until slightly firm. Don’t wait for the base to brown as it will continue to cook once the filling is in. We made this mistake…but not before dropping the whole tin on the floor and repressing it back into place. This recipe is bombproof, I tell you!

Then the filling:

  • 2-3 boxes (250g each) of Philadelphia cream cheese
  • one egg
  • a dash of natural vanilla essence or vanilla powder
  • 2 tbls of natural yogurt
  • 1/4 cup coconut cream
  • 1/2 cup-ish of rice syrup (or add more/less to your individual taste). And, yes, rice syrup is fructose-free.

In a large bowl add the cream cheese (room temp), egg, vanilla, coconut cream and rice syrup and yogurt. Mix until it’s an even, thick consistency. Don’t over mix and try and keep aeration to a minimum while stirring – it will make the thing puff up, then collapse. Add your mixture to the base and return to the slow oven for 20-30 mins or until the mixture is puffy on the edges and the centre slightly soft and custard-like – (don’t overcook). Put in the fridge until it’s firm, otherwise it’s way tooooooo egg-y. We made this mistake in our impatience.

Then eat.

Those 2 recipes that I have made before hand has been real SAVERS. I haven’t been gorging on them but it did satisfy my sweet tooth 🙂

I take that the first week is going to be a smooth transition in how to be totally sugar free (no refined sugar, including the so called fructose…so No fruits too) for the rest of the 8 weeks program.

I will surely coming up with lots more things to say but from now, I think that I have said enough :)0

Have a lovely day wherever you are.

Love. Stephanie xxx

This entry was published on June 18, 2012 at 5:33 pm. It’s filed under A BALANCED LIFE FREE FROM SUGAR, BALANCED BODY, BALANCED FOOD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “WEEK 1

  1. thewholefoodstory on said:

    Sarah Wilson has also been an inspiration to me too! I like her posts on sugar-free, grain-free and bicycle appreciation. Her IQS cookbook is great too!

Leave a Reply

