Sticking to a budget…hummmmm…

On my journey in getting better at budgeting my spendings while still enjoying my life, I am facing few difficulties…

I have been so much better at NOT spending on clothes, make up and toiletries as I used to do ( at a time I was a bit richer :))). I realized that each time I was buying something fancy and relatively expensive, I was ending up wearing it just once or twice and then forgetting about it. I consider my style to be pretty simple. I love jeans, I love plain tee-shirt and a nice pair of boots. I have managed to look at my wardrobe in a different way now and only purchasing clothes that I would truly wear on a regular basis.

Lately, I have been shopping in charity shops. You can find some great bargains and beautiful piece of clothes. A tip I could give you is to visit charity shops within a wealthy area. You would be surprise at all the wonders that you can find…at a very reduced cost!

Now then…my challenge is TO NOT visit those wonderlands on a regular basis, just because they are cheap! Sums can add up very quickly without realising the damages: a £3.99 PAR CI ET UN £3.99 PAR LA! will certainly not help me sticking to a tight budget!

I have to say, I have never been good at it! I think that one of my biggest weaknesses is…FOOD! Just to illustrate this statement: Today, I have been to the shop with the intention to only buy a pot of creme fraiche (I have been reading a blog and the author was swearing by cow cream to heal and nourish the skin…I thought BARGAIN…I will try that tonight ! well… thinking about it now is not that of a bargain… if I have to apply cow cream on my skin everyday knowing that the shelve life of a pot of creme fraiche is only of 3 days…hummm)

Well…I came out of the shop with a receipt of £6.93!!! A bit pricey for a single pot of creme fraiche! The thing is, this kind of receipts happen fairly regularly…and is not helping with being sensible with my money. It is so easily done though and I am thinking that my planning skills are in need to be worked on a little bit more. On the bright side:  I had a nice meal though :))) ! My receipt was including: courgettes / chestnut puree (yes a bit random but I fancied that at the time…) / some organic butter (yes because I believe in Organic!) / and a bag of organic baked corn snack coated with carrot that I NEEDED !?! to eat on my way home…

In the next few weeks, I will try to plan my food shopping experiences a bit better and will keep you up dated. Also, If someone could share some tips on how I could get better, feel free to post a comment 🙂

In the meantime, I wish you a beautiful evening or day…wherever you are.

With Love and Gratitude,

Stephanie xxx

This entry was published on May 16, 2012 at 7:52 pm and is filed under BALANCED FINANCE. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

