SMILE….

Smiley Face

Smiley Face (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today, I have to admit that I was slightly in a bad mood.

Since these last couple of days, my morning alarm woke me up in the middle of a dream. Usually I am not remembering my dreams for a strange reason. But since these last few days, my dreams were very vivid. I was moaning and complaining to my partner: “I CANNNN’TTTT GETTT UPPPPPPPPPP ; I AMMMMMMMMMM TIREDDDDDDDDDD”. He gently said to me: ” Come on, stop telling yourself you are tired as you are going to set this mood up for your day ahead”. Well…Very wise…Easier done than said….Then he sung this beautiful song by Frank Sinatra:

                              Smile though your heart is aching
Smile even though it’s breaking
When there are clouds in the sky, you’ll get by
If you smile through your fear and sorrow
Smile and maybe tomorrow
You’ll see the sun come shining through for you

Light up your face with gladness
Hide every trace of sadness
Although a tear may be ever so near
That’s the time you must keep on trying
Smile, what’s the use of crying?
You’ll find that life is still worthwhile
If you just smile

I am lucky as my partner is a great singer. This song has really uplifted my heart! Beautiful lyrics. The impact might have been different if he was singing “comme une casserole!” HAHA. The literate translation of this is: singing like a saucepan! Don’t ask me why, I do not have a clue why French people are saying that!

I felt happy and uplifted all morning but approaching 1.30PM..badaboum….tiredness and grumpiness hit me again. I realised that I didn’t have any food for the last 6 hours . Been to the shop quick quick quick, bought some ingredients that I fancied and gone straight home. I nibbled all the way while I was preparing my meal and when came the time to properly eat…well…I wasn’t really hungry. But I was so delighted with the food that I made that I couldn’t put it on the side and forget about it! I then relaxed and carried on eating.

Suddenly, the vision of a lovely “Clementine, Vanilla and Cinnamon custard tart” crossed my mind. Oh YESSSSSS in the fridge! We had a home-made pizza party night at our neighbour’s house few days back. Very unusual but we came back home with 3/4 of the tart. Not that it was disgusting. Just because we were all very full that we couldn’t handle having anymore food.

I didn’t beat myself up about having some of this delicious tart (as part of my plan = enjoying it and not thinking of the impact that the sugar is going to have on my body). We also made up a vanilla ice cream mixed with dark chocolate, ginger cookies and peanut butter. Delicious! Now is the thing…I didn’t beat myself up but…the thing is, I didn’t beat myself up since these last few days by having EVERYDAY a big slice of this wonderful tart and ice cream.

Now then, it made me consider a valid point: Is having a big slice of cake and ice cream every single day part of a BALANCED DIET? Probably not!

So….there are few things that I have been thinking about that I would like to share with you:

1)  Going without food for more than 6 hours hasn’t done me any favour! It made me crave for some food and nibble on everything. It also made me loose any conception of slowing down and taking time to enjoy my food. LESSON No 1:  Next time, I will make sure that I am eating a bit more regularly to avoid cravings or quick fix.

2) Having cakes, sweets or tarts around the house is not helping. I found that if sweet treats are not around, it is easier to completely switch off and divert my attention on doing a non-food related activities such as writing on my blog. LESSON No 2: Clear my cupboard up from any sweets / cakes and so on as I am less likely to indulge on them everyday. I am only human and my will power can only been pushed to a certain degree!

3) Finding healthier sweet alternatives is making me feel good. I had some clementines and cream the other day. I also tried apples cooked with cinnamon. Delicious! I loved it. LESSON No 3: If I want to have a balanced diet, thinking and planning healthier treats is going to make me feel better. But also trying to have diversity and not sticking to the same treats over and over again is going to be a must.

4) I have to take responsibility for myself. I am the one who is putting the sweet treats in my mouth. I am the one who is buying them. They are not coming to me by MAGICAL phenomenon! The ones in the cupboard are hidden. They are not calling me: “hey we are there, come on and eat us!”. No I am the one to reach for them! LESSON NO 4: linked to LESSON No 2: do not buy them on a regular basis because I definitely know how they will make me feel: BAD AND GUILTY.

I am sure that I will share more insights with you very shortly. But from now, I do hope you will get something valuable from this post.

I send you my LOVE. Speak to you soon!

Steph.

This entry was published on May 3, 2012 at 8:17 pm. It’s filed under BALANCED BODY, BALANCED MIND and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

