In the search of a Balanced Diet…

Curried Savoy Cabbage Soup With Mushrooms. Photo by tigerduckhttp://www.food.com/recipe/curried-savoy-cabbage-soup-with-mushrooms-145481

As mentioned in a previous post, being on a two months sugar free challenge…I have been increasing my intake of fats (good fats such as coconut oil / avocados / raw chocolate / almond butter / nuts and seeds…). I do believe in the benefits of eating good fats and I found eating good fats very fulfilling and satisfying. However, being balanced and not over-indulging in them is another challenge of mine…

To cope better with my sugary temptations, I have created various sugar free treats such as raw almond butter treats, coconut & cacao nibs flapjacks, raw chocolate and avocado pudding and so on. My aim is to experiment dessert-like recipes with no sugar at all ( NO refined or Unrefined sugar such as honey / agave nectar / yacon syrup…) so I can get my taste buds less and less used to the taste of sugar.

At first, it has been a bit like eating tasteless breakfast or dessert but more and more I am getting use to not having a sweet taste in my mouth. I can honestly say that I don’t fancy sweet taste neither! I am less and less addicted to it and I am ASTONISHED of this never experienced feeling!!! Stephanie Langevin: not craving a sweet treat?!! MIRACLE!

I also have to say that being free from: “I fancy a sweet treat…shall I have one?…No it doesn’t make me feel good…I will wait…But I deserve it….Oh go on, don’t be too hard on yourself Steph!…I will wait…oh I am going to eat just one because I can only think about it right now…just one…that it is right…” to only realise few minutes later that I have been indulging in the whole pack of whatever I was eating…

Going back to the purpose of this post, I was looking for a low fat recipe that I could eat tonight and using some of the following ingredients found in my fridge: savoy cabbage / mushroom / thyme / potatoes…The reason why I wanted to have a low fat meal tonight is just to ease up a little bit on the sugar free treats that I have been eating lately. Just to rebalance my diet a little!

So many times, I have been increasing a category of food to the detriment of the other. I realise that I need to be cautious about not eating the same thing over and over again, even if it is supposed to be good for me. I realise that I need to be more conscious about what I am eating: adapting and making sensible decisions  if I am overindulging or prioritizing one category of food over another.

So here is the recipe I am going to indulge on tonight by Tigerduck:  http://www.food.com/recipes.php?chef=225021. I am just going to pass on the cream. I am also pass on to the curry powder as I already had some mung beans curried soup yesterday!

Ingredients:

Servings:

4   4

4-6

Units: US | Metric

Directions:

  1. 1
    Cut the savoy cabbage into wedges, core and shred it. Chop the onion. Remove leaves from the thyme sprigs. Peel and cube potato.
  2. 2
    Heat half of the butter in a high pan until butter melts. Lower heat and add the shredded savoy cabbage and onion. Cook for 3-4 minutes, stirring frequently.
  3. 3
    Add curry powder and mix. Add chopped potato, thyme leaves and stock. Increase heat, add a lid and cook on low/medium heat for 25-30 minutes.
  4. 4
    Slice the mushrooms and chop the parsley.
  5. 5
    Blend the soup with a hand blender. Add the cream. Check if more water or curry is needed. Season with salt and pepper if necessary. Warm the soup, but don’t heat it too much, as the cream may curl (depending on the fat content of the cream and on the temperature you heat it).
  6. 6
    Heat the remaining butter in a skillet and fry the mushrooms. Season with salt and pepper. Add parsley when mushrooms are cooked.
  7. 7
    SERVE:.
  8. 8
    Pour soup into bowls and top with mushrooms.
    With kind love,
    Stephanie xxx
This entry was published on July 2, 2012 at 11:49 am. It’s filed under A BALANCED LIFE FREE FROM SUGAR, BALANCED FOOD and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “In the search of a Balanced Diet…

  1. Pingback: Steak with savoy cabbage, asparagus and broccoli | Yummy Lummy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers